Indianapolis Chapter of Rose Croix

L. Thomas Cooper, Most Wise Master

The Indianapolis Chapter of Rose Croix was organized in March 1865 and chartered in Indianapolis on May 19, 1865.

The Chapter has control over and power to confer the following degrees:

  • 17th Knight of the East and West
  • 18th Knight of the Rose Croix of Heredom

Offices listed at right marked with * are elected and progressive, and each officer serves for two years per station.  The Master of Ceremonies and Captain of the Guard are appointed positions which -may- progress, at the discretion of the Presiding Officer and/or in the case of a vacancy in the station of the Senior Warden.  All other stations (with the exception of the Treasurer, Secretary, and Trustees) are appointed.

Interested in becoming a Valley Officer?  Click here.

Past Most Wise Masters and Years of Service

*Deceased   **Demitted   ***Suspended

John Love, 32º 1865-1867
Jehiel Barnard, 32º 1867-1872
John H. Holliday, 33º 1872-1875
Charles E. Wright, 33º 1875-1878
Martin H. Rice, 33º 1878-1880
Austin H. Brown, 33º 1880-1883
Byron K. Elliott, 33º 1883-1904
Roscoe O. Hawkins, 33º 1904-1906
Lewis E. Morrison, 33º 1906-1908
Homer A. Sampsell, 33º 1908-1911
Edward O. York, 32º 1911-1913
Arthur R. Baxter, 33º 1913-1915
Frank McAllister, 32º 1915-1916
Bertrand Delp, 32º 1916-1918
Martin T. Ohr, 33º 1918-1920
Frank G. Laird, 33º 1920-1922
Obie J. Smith, 33º 1922-1924
William H. Kershner, 32º 1924-1926
Henry C. Thornton, 32º 1926-1928
William H. Morrison, 33º 1928-1930
J. Ralph Fenstermaker, 33º 1930-1932
Edward B. Raub, 33º 1932-1934
James C. Gipe, 33º 1934-1936
Harry L. Orlopp, 32º 1936-1938
Fermor S. Cannon, 33º 1938-1940
W. Vernon Schultz, 33º 1940-1941
A. Marshall Springer, 33º 1941-1943
R. Norman Baxter, 33º 1943-1945
August J. Sieloff, 33º 1945-1947
Ralph T. Simon, 33º 1947-1949
Richard H. Dye, 33º 1949-1951
Carl R. Rhude, 33º 1951-1953
John L.H. Fuller, 33º 1953-1955
C. Arthur Landes, 33º 1955-1957
C. William Maibucher, 33º 1957-1959
Wilbur E. Smith, 32º 1959-1960
Edwin H. McCaffery, 33º 1960-1962
Carl S. Hulen, 33º 1962-1964
Don Burton, 33º 1964-1966
Robert P. Joyce, 33º 1966-1968
Thomas H. Cochrane, 33º 1968-1970
Edgar N. Rhodes, Jr., 32º 1970-1970
Merlin M. Bailey, 33º 1970-1972
  Bloor Redding, 33º 1972-1974
Richard C. Rhude, 33º 1974-1976
*   Russell A. Murphy, 33º 1976-1978
Ted E. Kaptain, 33º 1978-1980
John E. Beaulieu, 33º 1980-1982
  Philip S. Kappes, 33º 1982-1984
***  Thomas A. Shearer, 33º 1984-1986
John E. Grein, 33º 1986-1988
  Fred L. Jones, 33º 1988-1990
William D. Richter, 33º 1990-1992
  William H. Woodruff, III, 33º 1992-1994
  Jeffrey K. Saunders, 33º 1994-1996
  Edwin E. Board, 33º 1996-1998
  Gary G. Wyne, 33º 1998-2000
  Carl E. Culmann, 33º 2000-2002
  Michael D. Brumback, 33º 2002-2004
  Donald B. Marcum, Jr., 33º 2004-2006
  Gregory A. Chiles, 33º 2006-2008
  Timothy J. Hopewell, 33º, MSA 2008-2010
  Michael W. Klepper, 33º 2010-2012
  Randolph L. Seipel, 33º, MSA 2012-2014
  Dale E. Wheatley, 33º 2014-2016
  Don R. Reynolds, 33º 2016-2018
  Steven J. Sonafrank, 33º 2018-2020
  Eric J. Vermeulen, 33º 2020-2022
  Mathew A. Bryant, 32º 2022-2024
  L. Thomas Cooper, 32º 2024-